Governor Brown Signs Legislation to Expand Paid Family Leave in California


4-11-2016

Picture Picture
SACRAMENTO - Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. today signed legislation - AB 908 by Assemblymember Jimmy Gomez (D-Los Angeles) - that expands the state's Paid Family Leave program to help more working Californians care for an ill family member or bond with a new child.

"Families should be able to afford time off to take care of a new child or a member of their family who becomes ill," said Governor Brown. "This expansion makes sense for employers and employees."

Under the legislation, California's Paid Family Leave program will increase wage replacements from the current level of 55 percent to either 60 or 70 percent depending on the applicant's income. This will improve an individual's ability to take up to six weeks off to bond with a new child or care for an ill family member. The bill also eliminates the program's previous one week waiting period for claims.

In 2002, California became the first state in the nation to establish a Paid Family Leave program. It is wholly funded through worker contributions and is administered by the Employment Development Department in tandem with the State Disability Insurance program.

Today's action builds upon the Governor's commitment to supporting California's working families. Last week, Governor Brown signed landmark legislation raising California's minimum wage to $15 per hour statewide and in 2014, the Governor signed the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act, which provides paid sick days to millions of Californians.

For full text of the bill signed today, go to http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov.

Photo captions:

1.)Governor Brown signs Paid Family Leave legislation.
2.) Governor Brown gives remarks.

Photo Credit: Joe McHugh, California Highway Patrol. For high resolution copies of these images, contact Danella Debel at Danella.Debel@gov.ca.gov.
###