Governor Newsom Issues Legislative Update 7.12.19

SACRAMENTO – Governor Gavin Newsom today announced that he has signed the following bills:

  • AB 57 by Assemblymember Evan Low (D-Campbell) – Elections: names of candidates.
  • AB 239 by Assemblymember Rudy Salas (D-Bakersfield) – Community colleges: registered nursing programs.
  • AB 255 by Assemblymember Monique Limόn (D-Santa Barbara) – Coastal resources: oil spills: grants.
  • AB 293 by Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia (D-Coachella) – Greenhouse gases: offset protocols.
  • AB 361 by Assemblymember Randy Voepel (R-Santee) – Military Department: support programs.
  • AB 381 by Assemblymember Eloise Gómez Reyes (D-Grand Terrace) – Postsecondary education: sexual assault and sexual violence prevention training: intimate partner and dating violence.
  • AB 453 by Assemblymember Ed Chau (D-Arcadia) – Emergency medical services: training.
  • AB 487 by Assemblymember James Gallagher (R-Yuba City) – Department of Water Resources: dams and reservoirs: fees and penalty plus interest.
  • AB 494 by Assemblymember Marc Berman (D-Palo Alto) – CalFresh: eligibility: shelter expense deductions.
  • AB 566 by Assemblymember Marc Berman (D-Palo Alto) – Elections: official canvass period.
  • AB 608 by Assemblymember Cottie Petrie-Norris (D-Laguna Beach) – Property taxation: exemption: low-value properties.
  • AB 619 by Assemblymember David Chiu (D-San Francisco) – Retail food: reusable containers: multiuse utensils.
  • AB 631 by Assemblymember Kevin McCarty (D-Sacramento) – Sacramento Regional Transit District: voting threshold.
  • AB 634 by Assemblymember Rudy Salas (D-Bakersfield) – Traffic control devices: roundabouts: memorial and dedication signs.
  • AB 644 by the Committee on Public Employment and Retirement – State teachers’ retirement: compensation.
  • AB 669 by Assemblymember Chris Holden (D-Pasadena) – Attorney General: assurance of voluntary compliance.
  • AB 672 by Assemblymember Sabrina Cervantes (D-Riverside) – Public employees’ retirement: disability retirement: reinstatement.
  • AB 693 by Assemblymember Marc Berman (D-Palo Alto) – Conditional voter registration: voting.
  • AB 706 by Assemblymember Evan Low (D-Campbell) – Community colleges: academic employees.
  • AB 743 by Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia (D-Coachella) – Pupil health: self-administration of prescribed asthma medication.
  • AB 903 by Assemblymember Marc Levine (D-Marin County) – Political Reform Act of 1974.
  • AB 988 by Assemblymember Marc Berman (D-Palo Alto) – Teacher credentialing: out-of-state prepared teachers: education specialist credential.
  • AB 998 by Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D-Winters) – State scenic highways: State Route 128.
  • AB 1032 by Assemblymember Bill Quirk (D-Hayward) – Ticket sellers: equitable ticket buying process: use or sale of services.
  • AB 1044 by Assemblymember Jacqui Irwin (D-Thousand Oaks) – Elections: Secretary of State.
  • AB 1089 by Assemblymember Mark Stone (D-Scotts Valley) – Santa Cruz Metropolitan Transit District.
  • AB 1160 by Senator Brian Dahle (R-Bieber) – Forestry: timber operations: sustained yield plans.
  • AB 1183 by Assemblymember James Ramos (D-Highland) – Vessel operator: definition.
  • AB 1292 by Assemblymember Rebecca Bauer-Kahan (D-Orinda) – Firearms.
  • AB 1421 by Assemblymember Rebecca Bauer-Kahan (D-Orinda) – Supervised release: revocation.
  • AB 1662 by Assemblymember James Ramos (D-Highland) – Native Americans: repatriation.
  • AB 1802 by the Committee on Health – Health care service plans.
  • AB 1803 by the Committee on Health – Pharmacy: health care coverage: claims for prescription drugs sold for retail price.
  • AB 1817 by the Committee on Judiciary – Family law omnibus.
  • AB 1821 by the Committee on Judiciary – Contracts.
  • AB 1830 by Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego) – State claims.
  • SB 103 by the Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review – State employees: memorandum of understanding.
  • SB 224 by Senator Shannon Grove (R-Bakersfield) – Grand theft: agricultural equipment.

The Governor also announced that he has vetoed the following bills:

  • AB 603 by Assemblymember Melissa Melendez (R-Lake Elsinore) – Firearms: retired peace officers. A veto message can be found here.
  • AB 618 by Assemblymember Mark Stone (D-Scotts Valley) – Transactions and use taxes: City of Scotts Valley: City of Emeryville. A veto message can be found here.

For full text of the bills, visit: