Official website of the State of California

Resources for California

Governor Newsom Issues Legislative Update 7.30.19

SACRAMENTO – Governor Gavin Newsom today announced that he has signed the following bills:

  • AB 473 by Assemblymember Brian Maienschein (D-San Diego) – Disposition of estate without administration.
  • AB 585 by Assemblymember Monique Limόn (D-Santa Barbara) – Public lands: oil, gas, and mineral leases.
  • AB 591 by Assemblymember Cristina Garcia (D-Bell Gardens) – Central Basin Municipal Water District: board of directors.
  • AB 1000 by Assemblymember Sabrina Cervantes (D-Riverside) – Student safety.
  • AB 1095 by Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia (D-Coachella) – Desert Healthcare District.
  • AB 1179 by Assemblymember Blanca Rubio (D-Baldwin Park) – Child custody: allegations of abuse: report.
  • AB 1213 by Assemblymember Phillip Chen (R-Yorba Linda) – Legal document assistants and unlawful detainer assistants.
  • AB 1390 by Assemblymember Mark Stone (D-Scotts Valley) – Deferred entry of judgment pilot program.
  • AB 1428 by Assemblymember Ian Calderon (D-Whittier) – Business practices: prepaid credit cards: refund methods.
  • AB 1532 by Assemblymember Rebecca Bauer-Kahan (D-Orinda) – Food facilities: food safety: employee knowledge.
  • AB 1538 by Assemblymember Shirley Weber (D-San Diego) – Automobile collision coverage: payment for repairs.
  • AB 1597 by the Committee on Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials – Hazardous waste: transportation: electronic manifests.
  • SB 18 by Senator Nancy Skinner (D-Berkeley) – Keep Californians Housed Act.
  • SB 30 by Senator Scott Wiener (D-San Francisco) – Domestic partnership.
  • SB 41 by Senator Robert Hertzberg (D-Van Nuys) – Civil actions: damages.
  • SB 62 by Senator Bill Dodd (D-Napa) – Endangered species: accidental take associated with routine and ongoing agricultural activities: state safe harbor agreements.
  • SB 164 by Senator Mike McGuire (D-Healdsburg) – Infractions: community service.
  • SB 173 by Senator Bill Dodd (D-Napa) – CalFresh: postsecondary student eligibility: workstudy.
  • SB 180 by Senator Ling Ling Chang (R-Diamond Bar) – Gene therapy kits: advisory notice and labels.
  • SB 233 by Senator Scott Wiener (D-San Francisco) – Immunity from arrest.
  • SB 242 by Senator Richard Roth (D-Riverside) – Land use applications: Department of Defense: points of contact.
  • SB 251 by the Committee on Banking and Financial Institutions– Financial institutions.
  • SB 334 by Senator Richard Pan (D-Sacramento) – Healing arts: clinical laboratories.
  • SB 339 by Senator Brian Jones (R-Santee) – Engineers, land surveyors, and geologists and geophysicists: nondisclosure agreements: reporting.
  • SB 366 by Senator Ling Ling Chang (R-Diamond Bar) – Public postsecondary education: mandatory orientation for students.
  • SB 418 by Senator Anthony Portantino (D-La Cañada Flintridge) – Claims against the state: appropriation.
  • SB 478 by Senator Susan Rubio (D-Baldwin Park) – Commission on Teacher Credentialing: membership.
  • SB 505 by Senator Thomas Umberg (D-Santa Ana) – Presidential primary elections.
  • SB 506 by Senator Ben Hueso (D-San Diego) – Energy crisis litigation.
  • SB 508 by Senator Connie Leyva (D-Chino) – Residential property insurance.
  • SB 544 by Senator Thomas Umberg (D-Santa Ana) – State Bar: admission: license: moral character review: mental health medical records.
  • SB 578 by Senator Brian Jones (R-Santee) – Vacation Ownership and Time-share Act of 2004: incentives.
  • SB 652 by Senator Ben Allen (D-Santa Monica) – Entry doors: display of religious items: prohibitions.
  • SB 735 by Senator Connie Leyva (D-Chino) – Public social services: accommodation: notification.
  • SB 748 by Senator Henry Stern (D-Canoga Park) – California Youth Poet Laureate.
  • SB 784 by the Committee on Health – Medicare supplement benefit coverage.

The Governor also announced that he has vetoed the following bills:

  • AB 1221 by Assemblymember Ken Cooley (D-Rancho Cordova) – Children’s advocacy centers. A veto message can be found here.
  • SB 701 by Senator Brian Jones (R-Santee) – Firearms: prohibited persons. A veto message can be found here.

For full text of the bills, visit: