Governor Newsom Signs Legislation 9.5.19

SACRAMENTO – Governor Gavin Newsom today announced that he has signed the following bills:

  • AB 17 by Assemblymember Rudy Salas (D-Bakersfield) – Elections: vote by mail ballots.
  • AB 299 by Assemblymember Rudy Salas (D-Bakersfield) – Vote by mail ballot tracking.
  • AB 305 by Assemblymember Adrin Nazarian (D-North Hollywood) – Public capital facilities: public water or wastewater agencies: rate reduction bonds.
  • AB 321 by Assemblymember Jim Patterson (R-Fresno) – Sales and use taxes: exemptions: trucks for use in interstate or out-of-state commerce.
  • AB 498 by Assemblymember Shirley Weber (D-San Diego) – Business licensing: fees: exemptions: veterans.
  • AB 605 by Assemblymember Brian Maienschein (D-San Diego) – Special education: assistive technology devices.
  • AB 630 by Assemblymember Joaquin Arambula (D-Fresno) – Board of Behavioral Sciences: marriage and family therapists: clinical social workers: educational psychologists: professional clinical counselors: required notice: exemptions.
  • AB 689 by Assemblymember Kevin McCarty (D-Sacramento) – Municipal Utility District Act: nonstock security.
  • AB 714 by Assemblymember Jim Wood (D-Santa Rosa) – Opioid prescription drugs: prescribers.
  • AB 956 by Assemblymember Tyler Diep (R-Westminster) – Telecommunications: automatic dialing-announcing devices: emergency alert notifications.
  • AB 1017 by Assemblymember Tasha Boerner Horvath (D-Encinitas) – New or modified railroad crossings: approval.
  • AB 1051 by Assemblymember Christy Smith (D-Santa Clarita) – Community colleges: temporary faculty members: clinical nursing faculty.
  • AB 1065 by Assemblymember Marc Berman (D-Palo Alto) – Insurance transactions: notice: electronic transmission.
  • AB 1104 by Assemblymember Ian Calderon (D-Whittier) – California Life and Health Insurance Guarantee Association.
  • AB 1168 by Assemblymember Kevin Mullin (D-South San Francisco) – Emergency services: text to 911.
  • AB 1208 by Assemblymember Philip Ting (D-San Francisco) – Utility user taxes: exemption: clean energy resource.
  • AB 1414 by Assemblymember Laura Friedman (D-Glendale) – Urban retail water suppliers: reporting.
  • SB 20 by Senator Bill Dodd (D-Napa) – Surplus state property: Napa County Regional Park and Open Space District.
  • SB 129 by Senator Richard Pan (D-Sacramento) – Health care coverage reporting.
  • SB 141 by Senator Patricia Bates (R-Laguna Niguel) – Parole: sexually violent offenses: validated risk assessment.
  • SB 143 by Senator Nancy Skinner (D-Berkeley) – Junk dealers and recyclers: nonferrous material: payment by general use prepaid cards.
  • SB 234 by Senator Nancy Skinner (D-Berkeley) – Family daycare homes.
  • SB 259 by Senator Jim Nielsen (R-Red Bluff) – Department of Justice: crime statistics reporting.
  • SB 271 by Senator Scott Wiener (D-San Francisco) – Employment: motion picture production workers.
  • SB 343 by Senator Richard Pan (D-Sacramento) – Health care data disclosure.
  • SB 355 by Senator Anthony Portantino (D-La Cañada Flintridge) – Joint powers agencies: Clean Power Alliance of Southern California: meetings.
  • SB 534 by Senator Steven Bradford (D-Gardena) – Insurers: minority, women, LGBT, veteran, and disabled veteran business enterprises.
  • SB 540 by Senator Brian Jones (R-Santee) – Nonprofit public benefit corporations.
  • SB 557 by Senator Brian Jones (R-Santee) – Criminal proceedings: mental competence: expert reports.
  • SB 657 by Senator Bill Monning (D-Carmel) – Cannabis cultivation: county agricultural commissioners: reporting.
  • SB 671 by Senator Robert Hertzberg (D-Van Nuys) – Employment: payment of wages: print shoot employees.
  • SB 677 by Senator Ben Allen (D-Santa Monica) – Retail food safety: nonlatex gloves.
  • SB 779 by the Committee on Natural Resources and Water – Water.
  • SB 781 by the Committee on Public Safety – Public Safety Omnibus.
  • SB 788 by the Committee on Governmental Organization – Alcoholic beverages: appeals: decision: tied-house restrictions.
  • SB 789 by the Committee on Governance and Finance – Local government: administration.

For full text of the bills, visit: